More Emails

(3/22/12) Date I added

Dear Mr. Clingman,

Your interest in the success of the Root River project is very much appreciated. I’m perfectly willing to meet with you to discuss the reservations you may have regarding this project prior to the March 29 meeting, however, I’m afraid it would be entirely inappropriate for me to meet with you in the absence of Mr. Lehner and Mr. O’Connell. My role as a U.S. EPA advisor on this project is to provide technical assistance upon request, not to lead the project. The City of Racine is using the U.S. EPA grant money to help assess potentially contaminated properties for future clean-up as well as for area-wide planning projects, such as the Root River Corridor Redevelopment Project. To my knowledge, the City of Racine has done comprehensive outreach to all potentially affected communities, regardless of income level, but city officials and I are open to discussing further outreach in the West 6th St. area. Mr. Lehner, Mr. O’Connell, and I are ready to meet with you prior to the March 29th Area-Wide planning meeting. Please let us know if you wish to take us up on this opportunity.

Kyle E. Rogers
Environmental Scientist
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
77 W Jackson Blvd. (SB-7J)
Chicago, IL 60604-3590
Tel: (312) 886-1995
Fax: (312) 886-4071
Rogers.Kyle@epa.gov

My answer

The West 6th St area is an interesting area that with our low ave income, home ownership rates,lack of High school education and other factors is a hard area to work in. Few read the local paper, (the Minority Paper is not printed anymore I understand) WRJN  is NOT the Radio of choose ect.
I will be talking to others in my area about a meeting with the group you suggested and I agree would be the ideal. This may have to take place after the 3/29 meeting. Simply that like in any poor Urban area often elected leaders are not the Street level leaders.
Thank you very much for understanding that I believe in what the Root River can mean for the whole City of Racine. I hope the others do as well.
Wayne Clingman
236 Jones
Racine WI
53404
Lets see what happens


Inactive hide details for "Wayne" ---03/20/2012 01:55:37 PM---Sir  I very much would like to me with you before the meeting on “Wayne” —03/20/2012 01:55:37 PM—Sir I very much would like to me with you before the meeting on the 29th. I would like to have this

From: “Wayne” <wclingman@wi.rr.com>
To: Kyle Rogers/R5/USEPA/US@EPA
Cc: <bplehner@gmail.com>, <brian.oconnell@cityofracine.org>, <kfrost@racinecountyedc.org>, Gary Schafer/R5/USEPA/US@EPA
Date: 03/20/2012 01:55 PM
Subject: Re: Root River Racine WI


Sir

I very much would like to me with you before the meeting on the 29th. I would like to have this without the others. I have asked Mr. Lehner to talk with me before that meeting as well. He has yet to answer that email. I hope he does so.
Just so you know I have yet to see any outreach by the Root River Council to the West 6 St area. this is very troubling as the West 6th St area may not be area of this project we are however on the west edge and play a big part in the heath of the Root River. More and more of my neiboors see this as only because our area is the poorest in the city and do not make up the population that may be wanted in a revitalized Root River
As Mr. Lehner can tell you I am a big fan of the idea of the project, I am however worried on aspects of it. Like to remind you sir, that I tried to talk to you about this at the last meeting and you had no time to do so.

You may be interested in a Blog I write on this subject:

https://rootriverrevitalization.wordpress.com/ And I will be starting a Podcast on the same using one of the domains I own and perhaps a CATV show as well.
The Root River is as I see it is the rebirth of Racine and needs to be for all of Racine

Wayne Clingman
236 Jones St
Racine WI
53404
262-632-5336

CC Sen Ron Johnson (R) WI
.

Leave a Reply

